About the Foundation

The Bomber Command Commemorative Day Foundation was founded in 2007 in response to a meeting called by Wing Commander Rollo Kingsford-Smith DSO AM DFC.


This meeting was held at his home at Exeter in the NSW Highlands. At the meeting Rollo made the point that the Australian public were forgetting that we had lost approximately 5000 Australian Aircrew in the Second World War during their service with Bomber Command in the United Kingdom.


What did we intend to do about it?


The reply was a unanimous declaration that we would form the Bomber Command Commemorative Day to commemorate the loss of these fine airmen and to all those who served in Bomber Command. We also remember the men and women of the ground crews that serviced the aircraft, loaded the guns and bomb bays, fed the crews, transported them or worked in Flying Control.


The commemoration was to be held in Canberra at the Australian War Memorial on the first Sunday in June each year. Our first Patron was Rollo Kingsford-Smith and our first President was Mr Ross Pearson OAM who remained in this position till his untimely death before our 2015 commemoration.


The first service was held on the 1st of June 2008 in the presence of His Excellency Major General Michael Jeffery AC CVO MC Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia. In the next year we arranged for services to be extended to Australian States and to New Zealand, Canada and the United Kingdom.


We do feel that we have faithfully carried out our founders wishes to remember all those who made the supreme sacrifice and all those who served in Bomber Command

Lest we forget.